Day 2 in Cebu

Day 2 in Cebu – still pretty wired and on 5 hrs of sleep. At some point, post-plane ride hibernation kicks in – but who has time for that with so much to get out and see?!

OK – the gym now has air conditioning.  Didn’t notice it yesterday. Less passing out on my part.

Super-weird experience of the day: on the elevator ride back down from the gym, a striking lady in her 40s stepped in with a smile and coincidentally got out with me on the 9th floor. Walking ahead of me down the hallway, the woman seemed lost. Turning around abruptly and pacing back, she approached me and asked if I needed a massage?!  Here?! In the hotel hallway?  I told her no thank you. She then asked me for coins. I said – I don’t have any and this conversation has really gone South. I feel so used and I don’t even know her.

Later that morning, my colleague and I walked around one of the more progressive areas of Cebu – I.T. Park – to look for new office space. I tried the local version of McDonald’s – I learned that asking for a little mayo means they place half a jar on your chicken.  Frozen Royal Orange drink is totally  refreshing. Ducked into a cab just before a big thunderstorm and while scurrying back to the hotel, I spotted a dad on a motorcycle riding with his child on the back part of the seat – wearing a leaf and lawn bag for rain gear.  It was like witnessing a hefty bag embracing a motorcyclist with kiddie arms. Cebu Traffic safety tip:  staying dry trumps seat belts and helmits.

Temperature was a little cooler today at 90 degrees, but somehow the “real feel” was 111 (up 2 degrees from yesterday.  Went back to the pool, threw back a mango smoothie (only $3 delivered pool-side) – dinner at an amazing Chinese restaurant later on the 37th floor of the hotel. Almost gave back the meal doing the Skywalk on the 38th floor – amazing 360 degree view of the city at night from the city’s tallest building! And I’ve got the pictures to prove my bravery and strolling around the platform in beach sandals is permitted!

Standard

Leave a comment